Culture Identity & Writing

After watching the video “Culture Shock and the Omnipresence of Media” by Mike Wesch, I realized our identity is everything. Its insane to think about how in different parts of the world some people don’t even have a set name. Media is a huge display of a persons identity. We even use our identity in our writing. When a person writes they usually stick to the same styles or say certain words to indicate its them. The way everyone writes is just like a finger print, very unique. The hope is that when I write, a part of my identity shines through in it. My writing is typically laid back and not so technical. I write for fun a lot.

My identity also involves my culture and beliefs. A huge part of my culture is that my moms side of the family came from Germany. In my family we celebrate German holidays as well as eat German delicacies. This German side is a huge part of who I am. The author Walter Mosley, who I admire does a very good job at description. He does very well at incorporating identity into his writing. In his book Blood Grove, Walter goes in detail about the main character so much that you feel like you know them on a personal level. It makes you want to dive deeper. An example of this is early on he tells the readers who Easy Rawlins is. He shares that Easy is a black private detective who has a small agency with hopes of opening his own one day.

Leave a comment